LogoFinaspan

All about veneer

When a customer comes to choose veneer, the conversation often pauses for a moment when entering the veneer department. "So much choice!" is a common one-liner we should hear.

 

Below you will find an overview of all possible veneers, both in thin and thick veneer. The world of veneer is a fascinating world: many colours and shades, many patterns. We have 100 varieties in stock. Usually sliced in 2 ways, which should satisfy even the most demanding customer.

 

Keep in mind, the veneers you will discover are only indicative samples. Under no circumstances should they be taken as the reference. We work with a natural product and sometimes have to sympathize with what Nature gives us.

What is veneer?

Veneer is very thin wood that is cut from a log. It is much cheaper than solid wood when it comes to processing it. Solid wood is sawn directly into blocks from the log, which causes some wood waste here and there. Because veneer is cut or peeled in very thin layers, the log is used almost entirely. Veneer allows to cover an area 30 times larger than solid wood.

 

The veneer layons are jointed together and bounded on a coreboard. These veneered boards can be used for various applications: doors, panels for interior design (kitchens, bathrooms, offices, etc.) or for parquet flooring. Realizations based on veneer give the impression of solid wood but are more accessible and environmentally friendly.

 

Did you know? 

Veneer is a technique that is thousands of years old. In ancient Egypt, veneer was already used to build furniture and sarcophagi, while during the Renaissance, veneer was mainly used on expensive decorative objects for the higher social classes.

 

Wood is a living matter. Each tree has its own unique character. That means that all veneered boards are different. Veneer can therefore contain minor irregularities. But these shape her character and make veneer a product full of charm and passion. Structure, color, knots, thread, pattern ... all this gives each board a unique character. Trees tell stories that can be read from their structure. They tell that story in the veneered panels that Finaspan produces.

Slicing techniques

Quarter Cut - QC
ST-Kwartier

The log is cut in four quarters. The knife runs through the growth rings. The pattern is mainly straight grained.

Crown Cut - Cr
ST-Dosse

The log is opened in two half rounds. The knife runs along a tangent to the growth rings. The pattern is that of rounded shape (also called «flameshaped arches» or «cathedrals»).

Rotary Cut - R
ST-Afrol

The full log is mounted on a lathe and turns around its axis against the knife. This method follows the growth rings. The pattern is that of a coarse round shape and is not of big interest. In some cases however it can help to emphasize a particular character of the wood (pommelés, bird eyes, and so on).

Rift Cut - Ri
ST-OpRift

This is a combination of the 3 previous techniques: the log is cut in quarters and these are mounted on a lathe of «stay log» type. The cutting angle (15°) is set in order to produce a straight grain with a minimum of flake. This technique is mainly applied to the Oak.

Burls and Curls
ST-WortelsEnRonsen

Burls and Curls are very often taken one for the other. Burls are excrescences appearing on the side of the tree carrying many little branches. The result is a wild pattern combined with a lot of pin knots close to each other. According to individual case, burls are peeled or sliced but are always producing veneers of small sizes and are very fragile.
Curls are structures that are produced by the split of a tree at the level of the first big branches or at the bottom of the tree close to the big roots. Curls are generally flat sliced.

Jointing patterns

Depending on how the veneer is jointed, the drawing can differ greatly. 

Nowadays, the trend is "mixmatched" veneer : the repetitive pattern of bookmatched veneer is gone and homogeneity across a project can be better guaranteed.

Bookmatched
VT-OpenBoek
Slipmatched
VT-Geschoven
Mixmatched
VT-Geplankt
Endmatched
VT-Kopsgedraaid

Gradings

The diversity of veneers that nature provides us with is huge, as are the tastes and perceptions of human beings. It is therefore not possible to produce a single quality that will satisfy the entire market. We grade each specie into 4 or 5 standard qualities that already offer a great range of possibilities. It is also possible to obtain specially graded veneers, but only on order.

A sequential
The veneers are jointed from top quality crowns; a repeated (but evolving) pattern is found over a series of panels, which are numbered. Recommended for high class fittings.
A
The pattern is well structured and balanced. This grade includes some sequences, but not necessarily. A few small, pin knots or sound knots may be included, on condition that they are not visible at first glance. Straight grain Oak is mostly rift cut (stay log production) without medullary rays. An oblique mirror is tolerated on +/-10% of the straight-grain oak. Crowns are full crowns or reconstituted crowns, well balanced. To be advised for fronts.
Standard
This particular grade is only available in those species having a large number of natural features such as oak, for example. This veneer is close to ‘A’, but distinguishes itself by the presence of one or other particular features: a slightly darker colour, one or two rows of pin knots or sound knots, slightly more pronounced veins or a more marked flake, etc. The general structure, however, remains attractive and will fully satisfy wood lovers who find in these the mark of a natural product.
Special
The best value for money. Veneers with more character, combining wilder crowns, half crowns or false quarters, some variations in colour but not excessive, one or two rows of pin knots or sound knots or slightly more pronounced veins. The general structure, however, remains attractive. No mismatched sheets allowed. To be advised for carcasses or shelves.
B
Balancing veneer of the same specie. High tolerance on natural defects, including sapwood in acceptable proportions, but no open defects. Approximately 30 to 40 % of mismatched leaves.
C
Cheap balancing veneer, accepting any natural defect as well as significant discoloration, substantial traces of sapwood, open knots, but filled. No major open defects allowed however.
EB & EEB
For straight grain Oak, we have added 2 complementary grades: EB (from the French “Ebénisterie”) and EEB (for Extra EB). For demanding customers, grading can indeed be further fine-tuned. We are focusing on 3 criteria: colour, mirror and grain. If the veneer meets 2 criteria from 3, it will be classified EB. For ex. If the colour is light, mirror invisible but the grain is not perfectly straight, the veneer will be classified EB. If the 3 criteria are met, the veneer will be brought one grade higher: EEB.

LogoFinaspan.svg

Placage

Lorsqu’un client vient choisir son placage chez nous, la première impression est souvent « Quel choix ! tellement d’essences ».

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un aperçu en photos de toutes ces essences de bois, aussi bien en placage mince qu’en placage épais. Le monde du placage est vraiment fascinant : il y en a dans tous les tons et avec toutes sortes de structures différentes.

On a une centaine d’essence dans notre stock. La plupart du temps, nous les avons tranchées de deux manières, ce qui peut souvent déjà satisfaire les clients les plus exigeants.

Toutefois, n’oubliez pas de garder à l’esprit que les essences que vous allez découvrir ne sont que des échantillons. Elles ne peuvent pas être considérées comme des références pure et dure. Nous travaillons avec un produit naturel et devons parfois nous plier à la loi de la Nature.

Le Placage

Le placage est une couche de bois très mince qui est tranché au départ d’une bille. Le placage présente de nombreux avantages par rapport au massif lorsqu’il s’agit de le travailler. Le bois massif est directement scier en bloc au départ d’une bille, ce qui va provoquer une certaine quantité de déchets. Le placage, lui, est tranché ou déroulé et permet d’utiliser quasi l’entièreté de la bille. Il permet même de couvrir une surface 30 fois plus grande que le bois massif.

 

Cette fine couche de placage est ensuite collé sur un panneau de support. Ces panneaux replaqués peuvent ensuite être utilisés dans diverses applications : portes, panneaux pour l’aménagement d’intérieur (cuisine, bureaux, etc.) ou encore pour du parquet. Le placage est une option idéale car plus accessible en termes de budgets mais aussi plus écologique.

 

Le saviez-vous ?

Le placage est une technique vieille de plusieurs milliers d’années. Dans l’Ancienne Egypte, le placage était utilisé dans la fabrication des sarcophages et des meubles. A la Renaissance, le placage était surtout utilisé pour la décoration d’objets de décoration dans les classes sociales aisées.

 

Le bois est un matériaux vivant. Chaque arbre est unique et a son propre caractère. Ceci siginifie que tous les panneaux replaqués sont à leur tour unique et peuvent différer entre eux. Le placage peut aussi contenir quelques irrégularités mais celles-ci donnent du caractère au placage et en font un produit plein de charme et de passion.

Structure, couleurs, nœuds, fils, dessins, … Tout ceci donne à chaque panneau son caractère unique. Les arbres racontent des histoires que l’on parvient à lire en observant leur structure. Cette histoire, Finaspan l’a perdure, dans ses panneaux replaqués.

Tranchage

Quartier
ST-Kwartier.jpg

La bille est débitée en quatre quartiers égaux. Le couteau se déplace perpendiculairement par rapport aux anneaux de croissance. Le dessin obtenu est pour l'essentiel du fil droit.

Dosse
ST-Dosse.jpg

La bille est débitée en deux demi-lunes. Le couteau se déplace suivant une tangente aux anneaux de croissance. Le dessin obtenu est de type ramageux structuré. On parle aussi de flammes ou de cathédrales.

Déroulé
ST-Afrol.jpg

La bille entière est montée sr un tour et pivote par rapport au couteau. Celui-ci se déplace donc en suivant le tracé des anneaux de croissance. Le dessin obtenu est de type ramageux sauvage et offre peu d'intérêt. Dans certains cas, par contre, il peut mettre en evidénce un trait de caractère du bois (pommelé, moucheté, etc.)

Sur Rift - Sur Staylog
ST-OpRift.jpg

Il s'agit d'une combinaison de 3 techniques : la bille est débitée en quartiers et ceux-ci sont montés sur une dérouleuse de type "stay log". L'angle de coupe (15°) est établie de façon à produire un fil droit avec un minimum de maille. Cette technique s'applique essentiellement au chêne. 

Loupes et ronces
ST-WortelsEnRonsen.png

Les loupes et les ronces sont souvent confondues l'une avec l'autre. La loupe est une excroissance apparaissant sur certains troncs et souvent porteuse de petites branches. Il en résulte un dessin sauvage parsemé de petits noeuds. Suivant les cas, les loupes sont déroulées ou tranchées mais produisent toujours des placages de petites dimension et extrêmement fragiles. 

 

La ronces est une structure produite par la séparation d'un tronc au x deux premières grosses branches ou au pied de l'arbre près de grosses racines. Les ronces sont généralement tranchées à plat. 

Jointage

En fonction de la méthode utilisée pour jointer le placage, le rendu sera très différent. 
De nos jours, le jointage en "effet massif" séduit de plus en plus nos clients : on s'écarte de l'effet repétitif du livre ouvert et on a une plus belle homogénéité tout au long du projet. 

Livre Ouvert
VT-OpenBoek.jpg
Glissé
VT-Geschoven.jpg
Effet Massief
VT-Geplankt.jpg
Avec raccord en bout
VT-Kopsgedraaid.jpg

Tris - Qualité

La diversité des placages qui nous sont offerts par la nature est immense et il en va de même des appréciations et préférences affichées par les êtres humains que nous sommes. Il n’est donc pas possible de produire une qualité unique qui puisse satisfaire tout le marché. Nous trions chaque essence en 4 ou 5 qualités courantes qui offrent déjà de nombreuses possibilités. Au-delà, il est toujours possible d’obtenir des triages spéciaux, mais sur commande uniquement.

A suivi
Les placages sont en principe en dosse et de tout premier choix; le même motif se retrouve (mais évolue) sur une série de panneaux; ceux-ci sont numérotés sur les chants. Particulièrement indiqué pour l’agencement de haut de gamme.
A
Le dessin est bien structuré et équlibré; les placages comportent quelques séries mais pas nécessairement; quelques petits picots ou noeuds sains ne sont pas à exclure pour autant qu’ils ne soient pas visibles au premier coup d’oeil. Une maille oblique est tolérée dans le cas du chêne
de fil.
Standard A
Ce choix particulier n’est disponible que dans les essences présentant un nombre de caractères naturels important comme par exemple le Chêne. Il s’agit d’un placage proche du A mais qui s’en distingue par la présence de l’un ou l’autre caractère particulier : couleur un peu plus foncée, ou, une ou deux rangées de picots ou noeuds sains, ou, un veinage un peu plus marqué, ou, une maille un peu plus prononcée, etc. La structure générale reste cependant attrayante et satisfait amplement les amoureux du bois qui y retrouvent la marque d’un produit naturel.
Special A
Le meilleur rapport qualité / prix. Placages de caractère, on y retrouve pêle-mêle des dosses sauvages, des demi-dosses ou faux-quartier, des variations importantes de couleurs, des noeuds sains ou une grosse maille, mais pas de maille sautée. On peut aussi les qualifier de «rustiques » ou «menuiseries». Pas de feuilles dépareillées cependant. Indiqué dans toutes les applications qui apprécient les bois de caractère.
B
Ce sont les placages utilisés en contre-balancement de même essence. Grande tolérance sur les défauts, y compris l’aubier dans des proportions acceptables, mais pas de défauts ouverts. Environ 30 à 40 % de feuilles dépareillées.
C
Contre-balancement bon-marché autorisant des décolorations importantes, des traces importantes d’aubier, des nœuds ouverts mais mastiqués; pas de gros défauts ouverts cependant.
EB et EEB
Pour le Chêne de Fil, nous avons ajouté deux classements supplémentaires: EB (pour Ebénisterie) et EEB (pour Extra EB).
Pour les clients exigeants, le triage peut, en effet, encore être affiné. Nous portons notre attention sur 3 critères: la couleur, la maille et le fil. Si le placage rencontre 2 critères sur 3, il sera classé en EB. Par ex. si la couleur est claire, la maille invisible mais le fil n’est pas parfaitement droit, le placage sera classé EB. Si les 3 critères sont rencontrés, le placage sera porté un classement plus haut: EEB